Skip to main content

Walnut valley Unified School District

ALLmeansALL! Walnut Valley USD is proud to be a National Schools to Watch District with numerous National Blue Ribbon, California Gold Ribbon, and California Distinguished School awards. Our motto is KIDS FIRST... Every Student, Every Day!  

Walnut Valley Grads Named National Merit Scholarship Winners

NEWS                                                            Walnut Valley Unified School District
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                        880 S. Lemon Avenue
July 11, 2011                                               Walnut, CA 91789

Kelli Gile, Office of Community Resources
(909) 595-1261 ext. 31204

Walnut Valley Grads Named National Merit Scholarship Winners

WALNUT, CA—Congratulations to six Walnut Valley Unified School District 2011 graduates who have been named College-Sponsored National Merit Scholarship winners.

They are Aimee Chang, Tyrone Chang, Stephanie Chui, and Julia Win from Walnut High School; and Qun Zeng  and Emiley Tou from Diamond Bar High School.

These stellar students are among about 4,800 winners of National Merit Scholarships financed by U.S. colleges and universities. 1,700 winners were announced today and join 2,900 college-sponsored award recipients who were announced in late May by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.  

This year, 198 higher education institutions are underwriting Merit Scholarship awards through the National Merit Program. Sponsor colleges include about 118 private and 80 public institutions located in 45 states and the District of Columbia.

Officials of each sponsor college selected their scholarship winners from among Finalists in the 2011 National Merit Scholarship Program who plan to attend their institution. These awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship.

College-sponsored Merit Scholarship winners are a part of the distin­guished group of about 8,300 high school seniors of 2011 who will receive National Merit Scholarships for college undergraduate study worth nearly $35 million.