Skip to main content

Walnut valley Unified School District

Main Menu Toggle
ALLmeansALL! Walnut Valley USD is proud to be a National Schools to Watch District with numerous National Blue Ribbon, California Gold Ribbon, and California Distinguished School awards. Our motto is KIDS FIRST... Every Student, Every Day!  

Walnut Valley Retirees Honored

NEWS                                                                                        Walnut Valley Unified School District
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                880 S. Lemon Avenue
May 24, 2012                                                                           Walnut, CA 91789

Kelli Gile, Office of Community Resources
(909) 595-1261 ext. 31204

Walnut Valley Retirees Honored

WALNUT, CA--The Walnut Valley Unified School District paid tribute to the 2012 retirees during a ceremony held May 23.

A total of 54 employees including administrators, teachers, and classified personnel, were recognized for their outstanding contributions.

“We have so many awesome employees in this room today and it’s such a pleasure to recognize them!” said Assistant Superintendent of Human Resources Dr. Kathy Granger who co-hosted the event with Director of Human Resources Robert Chang.

Each honoree received certificates of recognition, retirement gifts, and heartfelt congratulations from the Board of Trustees and Superintendent as they took the stage in the Diamond Bar High Theatre.

“On behalf of the Board, I could not be more proud to say thank you very much. And however you take your next triumph I’m sure it will be with the certainty that you’re leaving a good place and will make the next place better,” said Board President Larry Redinger.

“The individuals we recognize today have made a conscious decision to devote a great amount of their life to the kids in this District. Walnut Valley has enjoyed an outstanding reputation for a number of years .The kids do very well because of the dedication of the adults. The people we recognize today are the ones who have built the excellent reputation that this of school district has earned,” said Superintendent Dr. Dean Conklin.

Congratulations to the following retiring staff members:

Business Office:  Jack LeBrun

Castle Rock Elementary: Elisabeth Davis

Chaparral Middle School: Bill Hardy, Bruce Black, Barbara Oldfield, Christy Passoth, Janet Nakamura, Larry Haynes, 

Child Care: Rachel Apodaca, Arletta Adams, Linda “Cookie” Alaniz, Maria “Cookie” Provenza, Sue Peter

C.J. Morris Elementary: Marcia Sobieski, Rebecca Godbey

Collegewood Elementary: Adela Romero, Vicky Telfer

Diamond Bar High: Sherri Case, Susan Craig, Eric Gossett, Glenn Ozaki, Phyllis Irving, Janet Lowe-Fusato, John Jones, Margaret Chu

Evergreen Elementary: Beverly Hoshi

Maintenance & Operations: Rich Alberts

Pupil Personnel: Frances Middleton, Jan Keating, Daniel Chan

Quail Summit ElementaryKlinda Burke

South Pointe Middle School: Betty Holmes, Jerry Starzynski, Craig Peschman, Mary Trout, Nancy Major, Nancy Bednar, Susan Olson, Deborah LeGarra, Deborah Brittenham, Jassy Greeley,Terry Hulse

Suzanne Middle School: Connie Castro

Vejar Elementary: Steve Carr, Pam Woolley, James Brandenburgh

Walnut Elementary: Kathleen Allen, Karen Breitkreutz

Walnut High: Angie Rivera, Dwight Baumann, Anthony Gomez, Bob Maynard, Donna Crisci, Bob Woolley

“Your contributions have been remarkable, and it’s been an honor to work along side of you! Thank you for your commitment to kids and the district, and I wish you all the best,” Dr. Conklin said.


Front Row: Klinda Burke, Arletta Adams, Deborah LeGarra, Nancy Major, Betty Holmes, Susan Olson, Creig Peschman, James Brandenburgh, Adela Romero, Jan Keating, Barbara Oldfield, Kathleen Allen, Christy Passoth. Middle Row: Linda “Cookie” Alaniz, Maria “Cookie” Provenza, Susan Craig, Deborah Brittenham, Nancy Bednar, Mary Trout, Daniel Chan, Sue Peter, Rich Alberts, Eric Gossett. Back Row:  Vicky Telfer, Jassy Greeley, Terry Hulse, Bill Hardy, Karen Breitkreutz, Jack LeBrun, Steve Carr, Janet Lowe-Fusato, John Jones, Margaret Chu, Dwight Baumann.