Skip to main content

Walnut valley Unified School District

ALLmeansALL! Walnut Valley USD is proud to be a National Schools to Watch District with numerous National Blue Ribbon, California Gold Ribbon, and California Distinguished School awards. Our motto is KIDS FIRST... Every Student, Every Day!  

Students Bring Poetry to Life

NEWS                                                                                    Walnut Valley Unified School District
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                   880 S. Lemon Avenue
May 7, 2014                                                                          Walnut, CA 91789


Kelli Gile, Office of Community Resources
(909)595-1261 ext. 31204

Evergreen Students Bring Poetry to Life at Festival

DIAMOND BAR, CA--Evergreen Elementary School hosted its annual Poetry Festival on Friday, May 2.  

Finalists were selected from their classes to perform poems in front of the school during assemblies. 

Students acted out their poems and performed them with passion and dramatic flair.

“It brought poetry alive for everyone and was a joy to watch,” said Principal Carolyn Wills.

Many entertaining poems were recited from authors Shel Silverstein, Mary Anne Hoberman, and Jack Prelutsky, and more.

The Poetry Festival has been a favorite annual event for Evergreen students and staff for over 20 years.

Teachers Katherine Royer, Loree Hoff, Erika McQuilliams, Mabel Woken, Lynn Otsu, and School Librarian Sharon Dea organized this year’s show for students. 

“This is another great example of our dedicated staff providing a STEAM: Science, Technology, Engineering, the Arts, and Math activity for our students.  This integrating of language arts with the dramatic arts was so entertaining and really engaged our students while showcasing our talented finalists,” Wills said.


Evergreen students performed poetry during a festival held on May 2. Back row:  William Chang, Anoushka Bhat, Breanna Yang, Rebecca Lee, Chelsea Wu, Lydia Worku, Albert Guo, Derek Shiu, John Tai. 2nd row:  Ms. Carolyn Wills, principal, Erin Miyahara, Lauren Trinh, Kelly Wang, Amanda Flores, Carrisa Jeon, Sydney Tagarao, Hannah Zhou, Monique Marantz, Justin Lu. 3rd   row: Aaron Chang, Daniel Lee, Heather Ma, Simon Worku, William Qian, Kayla Nguyen, Kirsten Boyle, Amelia Loch, Lucy Liu, Isabella Chang, Krystal Chai, Iryne How. 4th row:  Karen Lee, Amanda Liu, Bryson Yang, Maximiliano Wu, Jeremiah Jung, Aslin Choi, Madison Banuelos, Jason Miyahara, Patrict Wu. Bottom row: Andrew Tsai, Andrea Peeler, Ianna Lin, Audrey Doratan, Yousef Said, Jayden Song, Jalen Hung, Patricia Wu. Not shown: Ryan Amoudi.