Skip to main content

Walnut valley Unified School District

Main Menu Toggle
ALLmeansALL! Walnut Valley USD is proud to be a National Schools to Watch District with numerous National Blue Ribbon, California Gold Ribbon, and California Distinguished School awards. Our motto is KIDS FIRST... Every Student, Every Day!  

Trustees Honor School Site Council Leadership

NEWS                                                                                    Walnut Valley Unified School District

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                     880 S. Lemon Avenue

April 26, 2016                                                                          Walnut, CA 91789



Kelli Gile, Office of Community Resources

(909) 595-1261 ext. 31204

WVUSD Trustees Honor School Site Council Leadership

WALNUT, CA—Walnut Valley Unified School District (WVUSD) Board of Trustees recognized School Site Council leaders during the April 20 meeting.

“Our School Site Council chairpersons generously give their time, dedication, perseverance, and feedback to help make sound decisions for our schools,” said Jackie Brown, director of elementary education and assessment.

Congratulations to the following honorees: Patricia Ponce-Hernandez-Castle Rock Elementary, Fred Davies – Cyrus J. Morris Elementary, Kathy Youmans – Collegewood Elementary, Kevin Hoshi – Evergreen Elementary, Kimberly McNeil – Maple Hill Elementary, Marcus Lotto – Quail Summit Elementary, Angelica Razo – Vejar Elementary, Araceli Simeon – Walnut Elementary, Jenny Chen – Westhoff Elementary, Enoch Choi – Chaparral Middle School, Jeanette Schaller – South Pointe Middle School, and Marlene Soto – Suzanne Middle School.

School Site Council members are elected by parents and staff members. During meetings, the chairperson, a parent or teacher at the school, leads discussions with the principal to review instructional programs and budgets, school data, and help develop goals and action plans that align with budgets to help students achieve.

The valued community liaisons also lend their expertise and input as part of the team that develops School Site Plans which are approved annually by the Board of Trustees.

“From the bottom of our hearts, we so very much appreciate the work of our School Site Council chairpersons,” Brown added.


The WVUSD Board of Trustees honored School Site Council chairpersons during the April 20 meeting. Shown: Principal Susan Arzola, teacher Jeanette Schaller-South Pointe Middle School, Principal Denise Rendon, parent Jenny Chen – Westhoff Elementary, teacher Kimberly McNeil, Principal Nancy Stingley-Maple Hill Elementary, Principal Joan Perez, parent Kathy Youmans – Collegewood Elementary, Board President Helen Hall, Principal Carolyn Wills, parent Kevin Hoshi – Evergreen Elementary, parent Marcus Lotto, Principal Jeanette Koh –Quail Summit Elementary.